Songs of Orpheus

Monteverdi | Caccini | d'India | Landi



Karim Sulayman, tenor

Debuting this week – already #3 on iTunes Classical!

Karim Sulayman's debut solo album with Apollo’s Fire is a journey through love and redemption. The timeless myth of Orpheus, the great singer who stormed the gates of hell to rescue his beloved, comes to life through the songs of 17th-c. composers Monteverdi, Caccini, Landi, and d’India. Artistic Director Jeannette Sorrell and Apollo’s Fire instrumentalists interweave sonatas by Castello and Cima to evoke the changing moods of the Orpheus story.

SKU: AV2383 Category:

“Elegant and heartfelt… a pleasure in its own right. The journey is traced in vocal and instrumental works, rendered with stylishness and an easy grace.”
– SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE [read the full review]

“Sulayman has a wonderfully resonant voice, and he contributes a sense of personal involvement with the story of Orpheus, mythology’s most famous vocalist. The instrumental sonatas relate vividly to the stage of the story under discussion.”
– ALLMUSIC.COM [read the full review]


1. MONTEVERDI: Si dolce è ‘l tormento

2. MONTEVERDI: Vi ricorda o bosch’ ombrosi, from L’Orfeo, 1607

3. MONTEVERDI: Rosa del ciel, from L’Orfeo

4. CACCINI: Dolcissimo sospiro


5. CASTELLO: Sonata no. 2 in D Minor

6. MONTEVERDI: Tu se’ morta | Sinfonia, from L’Orfeo

7. CACCINI: Funeste piaggie, from L’Euridice, 1602

8. CIMA: Sonata no. 1 in G Minor

9. MONTEVERDI: Qual honor di te sia degno | Sinfonia, from L’Orfeo


10. CASTELLO: Sonata concertata XV, a Quattro voci

11. D’INDIA: Piangono al pianger mio

12. LANDI: Canta la cicaletta

13. LANDI: T’amai gran tempo

14. BRUNELLI: Non havea Febo ancora

15. MERULA: Folle è ben che si crede

“The U.S.A.’s hottest baroque band.” –CLASSICAL MUSIC MAGAZINE (UK)