The musicians of Apollo’s Fire are early music artists drawn from an international pool of period-instrument specialists. Gathering in Cleveland from across North America and Europe, these musicians share a common artistic vision, shaped by Artistic Director Jeannette Sorrell’s commitment to baroque music as a form of emotional communication. Ms. Sorrell invites musicians according to the specialized repertoire and instrumentation of each program. Many of these artists have been playing with Apollo’s Fire for nearly 20 years, but some of them appear only in program(s) that correspond to their instrument and/or specialty.

2020-2021 Season Roster

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, several of our planned programs have been replaced with small chamber programs. The following musicians would be playing with AF this year if full-scale concerts were taking place.

Olivier Brault, rotating concertmaster
A native of Montreal, Olivier holds a doctorate in baroque violin from the University of Montreal, and can be heard on over 60 CD recordings. He serves on the faculty of McGill University as baroque violin teacher.
Alan Choo, rotating concertmaster
Alan is graduate of the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory and Peabody Conservatory. He is also Founder and Artistic Director of Red Dot Baroque, Singapore’s first professional period ensemble.
Francisco Fullana, rotating concertmaster (special projects only)
Francisco holds degrees from The Juilliard School and an artist diploma from the USC Thorton School of Music. He was the winner of the 2018 Avery Fisher Career Grant.
Adriane Post, rotating concertmaster
Adriane holds a Master’s in baroque violin from The Juilliard School and a Bachelor’s from Oberlin Conservatory. She is a member of the Diderot String Quartet.
Susanna Perry Gilmore, rotating concertmaster
Susanna enjoys a multifaceted career as solo artist, chamber musician, and is currently the concertmaster of the Omaha Symphony. She holds degrees from Oxford University (UK) and the New England Conservatory.
*Julie Andrijeski, principal
Julie serves on the faculty of Case Western Reserve University and can be heard on over 10 solo and chamber music recordings on the Dorian label.
Chloe Fedor
Evan Few
Andrew Fouts
Edwin Huizinga
Min-Young Kim (special projects only)
Carrie Krause
Augusta McKay-Lodge
Holly Piccoli
Chiara Stauffer
Emi Tanabe
Nicole Divall, rotating principal
Kristen Linfante, rotating principal
Yael Cohen
Maia Hoffman
Kyle Miller
Allison Monroe
*René Schiffer, principal
A native of Holland, René was a protégé of the great Anner Bylsma, and can be heard on over 50 recordings. He holds Soloist Diplomas with honors in both modern and baroque cello and serves on the faculty of the Cleveland Institute of Music.
Rebecca Landell Reed
**Mimé Yamahiro Brinkmann
Kivie Cahn-Lipman (St. Matthew Passion only)
Eva Lymenstull (St. Matthew Passion only)
Ezra Seltzer
Sue Yelanjian, principal
Sue is a graduate of Oberlin Conservatory and CIM, and performs frequently with Tafelmusik in Toronto.

*Kathie Stewart
Daphna Mor, recorder & ney
Amy Guitry
**Francis Colpron, recorder
Luke Conklin, Irish flute, recorder & shawm
Sarah Lynn
Debra Nagy
Kathryn Montoya
Marc Vallon
Stephanie Corwin
Kiri Tollaksen
Alexandra Opsahl
Steven Marquardt
Perry Sutton
Greg Ingles
Erik Schmalz
Mack Ramsey
Liza Malamut
Ben Aronson
Garrett Lahr
Matthew Bassett
Luke Rinderknecht
Rex Benincasa
Parker Ramsay, harps
William Simms, theorbo, guitar
Brian Kay, guitar, oud, theorbo
**John Lenti, theorbo, guitar
Peter Bennett
Tina Bergmann
*Jeannette Sorrell, harpsichord
* denotes founding players
** on leave, 2020-2021

“The U.S.A.’s hottest baroque band.” –CLASSICAL MUSIC MAGAZINE (UK)