Apollo’s Fire Musicians

Toronto Group Portrait

The musicians of Apollo’s Fire are early music artists drawn from an international pool of period-instrument specialists. Gathering in Cleveland from across North America and Europe, these musicians share a common artistic vision, shaped by Music Director Jeannette Sorrell’s commitment to baroque music as a form of emotional communication. Ms. Sorrell invites musicians according to the specialized repertoire and instrumentation of each program. Many of these artists have been playing with Apollo’s Fire for nearly 20 years, but some of them appear only in program(s) that correspond to their instrument and/or specialty.

Olivier & Johanna. Medi in Santa Fe
Schiffer, Rene CROP

2014-2015 Season Roster:


Olivier Brault, concertmaster
A native of Montreal, Olivier holds a doctorate in baroque violin from the University of Montreal, and can be heard on over 20 CD recordings.

Johanna Novom, associate concertmaster
Johanna is a graduate of Oberlin Conservatory and won First Prize in the American Bach Soloists Young Artists Competition.

*Julie Andrijeski, principal
Julie serves on the faculty of Case Western Reserve University and can be heard on over 10 solo and chamber music recordings on the Dorian label.

Tanya Chulochnikova**
Andrew Fouts
Carrie Krause
Adriane Post
Jennifer Roig-Francoli
Emi Tanabe
Beth Wenstrom


Karina Schmitz, principal
A member of AF since she was 19, Karina holds degrees from Oberlin Conservatory, CIM, and New England Conservatory.

Kristen Linfante
Cynthia Black
Chris Nunn**


*René Schiffer, principal
A native of Holland, René was a protégé of the great Anner Bylsma, and can be heard on over 50 recordings. He holds Soloist Diplomas with honors in both modern and baroque cello.

Rebecca Landell
Mimé Yamahiro Brinkmann

Viola Da Gamba

Catharina Meints
David Ellis


Sue Yelanjian, principal
Sue is a graduate of Oberlin Conservatory and CIM, and performs frequently with Tafelmusik in Toronto.

Tracy Rowell

Traverso & Recorder

*Kathie Stewart
Francis Colpron**


Debra Nagy


Marc Vallon**
Stephanie Corwin


Josh Cohen
Joelle Monroe**


Matthew Bassett


Rex Benincasa

Lute / Theorbo

Richard Stone**
William Simms
Brian Kay


Peter Bennett

Hammered Dulcimer

Tina Bergmann


Jeannette Sorrell

* denotes founding players
** on leave, 2014-15