Tarantella!

COUNTRYSIDE CONCERTS 2018
Tarantella!
Rhythms of the Old Mediterranean
Last summer’s “Mediterranean Roots” program raised the rafters, and now it returns in a fresh, new version. Soulful singers Amanda Powell and Brian Kay celebrate the common ties of Spanish, Italian, Greek, and Arabic cultures, along with a colorful ensemble of plucked instruments, recorder, strings, hammered dulcimer, and exotic percussion. The Lautenwerck – a beautiful lute-like keyboard instrument – makes its debut on the AF stage at the hands of Jeannette Sorrell.
Friday, June 8, 2018, 8:00PM
Baroque Music Barn, HUNTING VALLEY
Saturday, June 9, 2018, 8:00PM
Baroque Music Barn, HUNTING VALLEY
Sunday, June 10, 2018, 2:00PM
AVON LAKE United Church of Christ
Sunday, June 10, 2018, 7:30PM
Geauga Lyric Theater, CHARDON
Tuesday, June 12, 2018, 7:30PM
The BATH Church (UCC)

Monteverdi’s L’ORFEO

SEMI-STAGED PRODUCTION
Monteverdi’s L’ORFEO
Orpheus in the Underworld

Synopsis

PROLOGUE. The personification of Music addresses the noble audience (i.e. the court of Mantua) and introduces the subject of Orfeo, the famous singer of antiquity.

ACT I. The fields of Thrace. Nymphs and shepherds are gathered to celebrate the wedding of Orfeo and Euridice. A shepherd invites the party to sing to Hymen, the goddess of …

Friday, April 13, 2018, 8:00PM
CLEVELAND Institute of Music (Kulas Hall)
Saturday, April 14, 2018, 8:00PM
CLEVELAND Institute of Music (Kulas Hall)
Wednesday, April 18, 2018, 7:30PM
St. Raphael Catholic Church, BAY VILLAGE

Bach’s Coffeehouse Orchestra

CARNEGIE HALL SEND-OFF CONCERTS!
Bach’s Coffeehouse Orchestra
Apollo’s Fire gears up for its Carnegie Hall debut with music that J.S. Bach performed at his favorite coffeehouse in Leipzig. The program includes Brandenburg Concertos no. 4 and 5, Telemann’s Don Quixote Suite, Sorrell’s acclaimed arrangement of Vivaldi’s La Folia (“Madness”), and more! Fiery strings, colorful recorders and a dizzying harpsichord solo… a memorable evening!
Friday, March 16, 2018, 8:00PM
CLEVELAND Institute of Music (Kulas Hall)
Saturday, March 17, 2018, 8:00PM
FAIRLAWN Lutheran
Sunday, March 18, 2018, 4:00PM
AVON LAKE United Church of Christ

Three Duels and a Wedding

Three Duels and a Wedding
Bach’s Double-Concertos & Wedding Cantata
Renowned soprano Amanda Forsythe, now a Billboard Classical best-selling artist, returns to sing the beloved Wedding Cantata of J.S. Bach. AF musicians set sparks flying with three dueling double-concertos: Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto no. 6, his Concerto for Violin & Oboe, and Telemann’s Concerto for Flute & Violin
Thursday, February 8, 2018, 7:30PM
First United Methodist Church, AKRON
Friday, February 9, 2018, 8:00PM
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, CLEVELAND HEIGHTS
Saturday, February 10, 2018, 8:00PM
The Temple-Tifereth Israel, BEACHWOOD
Sunday, February 11, 2018, 4:00PM
ROCKY RIVER Presbyterian Church

50 Ways to Leave Your Lover

50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
NICHOLAS PHAN & friends perform “A Painted Tale”
The tenor who won the hearts of AF audiences as the Evangelist in Bach’s St. John Passion returns in this intimate program of love and loss – through the lute songs of Dowland, Morley and Purcell. Six Apollo’s Fire musicians on strings and lutes help to paint the tale.
Thursday, November 9, 2017, 7:30PM
First United Methodist Church, AKRON
Friday, November 10, 2017, 8:00PM
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, CLEVELAND HEIGHTS
Saturday, November 11, 2017, 8:00PM
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, CLEVELAND HEIGHTS
Sunday, November 12, 2017, 4:00PM
ROCKY RIVER Presbyterian Church

Handel’s Israel in Egypt

Handel’s Israel in Egypt
A Dramatic Oratorio
From plagues and pyramids to the crossing of the Red Sea… the gripping story of the Israelites’ escape from Egypt comes to life with reverence and triumph through Handel’s sumptuous music.
Thursday, October 12, 2017, 7:30PM
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, AKRON
Friday, October 13, 2017, 8:00PM
First Baptist Church, SHAKER HEIGHTS
Saturday, October 14, 2017, 8:00PM
The Temple-Tifereth Israel, BEACHWOOD
Sunday, October 15, 2017, 4:00PM
AVON LAKE United Church of Christ

Christmas on Sugarloaf Mountain

Christmas on Sugarloaf Mountain
An Irish-Appalachian Celebration
In this new program created by Jeannette Sorrell, the beloved troupe from the Sugarloaf Mountain summer program joins a wider cast with chorus, children’s voices, and additional instruments to celebrate the Celtic roots of an Appalachian Christmas. From the mystical Gregorian chant of old Scotland to folk carols and shape-note hymns at a toe-tapping Christmas gathering in Appalachia… the people of the mountains welcome Christmas with LOVE, SINGING, DANCING and PRAYER.
Saturday, December 2, 2017, 7:30PM
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, AKRON
Sunday, December 3, 2017, 4:00PM
St. Noel Catholic Church, WILLOUGHBY HILLS
Friday, December 8, 2017, 8:00PM
CLEVELAND Museum of Art (Gartner Auditorium)
Saturday, December 9, 2017, 8:00PM
First Baptist Church, SHAKER HEIGHTS
Sunday, December 10, 2017, 4:00PM
St. Raphael Catholic Church, BAY VILLAGE

Orpheus Weeps

Orpheus Weeps
Early Italian Songs of Love & Loss
Orpheus, the tragic hero who lost his beloved Euridice, was the inspiration for many Italian composers of the 17th century. Favorite tenor Karim Sulayman is joined by Apollo’s Fire instrumentalists on strings and lutes for poignant songs of love and loss by Monteverdi, Caccini, and their contemporaries.
Friday, August 18, 2017, 8:00PM
CLEVELAND Institute of Music (Mixon Hall)
Saturday, August 19, 2017, 6:00PM
AKRON Woman’s City Club

“The U.S.A.’s hottest baroque band.” –CLASSICAL MUSIC MAGAZINE (UK)